presentation night 2021

On Friday night, the Club held its Virtual Presentation Night with the event live streamed via Facebook and YouTube from 7 p.m. With the current restrictions excluding a face-to-face gathering to celebrate Season 2021 this was the best possible way of ending the disrupted and incomplete season that was 2021!

Our Virtual Presentation Night is available to watch here: Facebook or YouTube

The evening was kicked off with a special guest appearance from our friend Brad McEwan, who introduced the night. Before Club President, Tom Dixon, took the reins as MC for the evening.

Tom launched the Club’s New Strategic Plan and thanked the many volunteers that help the Club run this season. Click here to read the LTUFC Strategic Plan to 2025.

Club Alumni Representative, Simon Hast, had the duty of recapping our game milestone achievements from season 2021. This included six players playing their 50th game for the Club: Josh Rogerson (rnd 1), Ross Campbell (rnd 3), Tyler Costa (rnd 3), Sam Benetti-Baker (rnd 5), Andy Castles (rnd 5) and Robbie Fawcett (rnd 12). 

Our Thirds Men’s Awards for the first our our team awards for the evening, presented by Josh Rogerson and Cam Blair. Robbie Fawcett and Thirds captain Jake Lasslett took out the honours of winning the Best and Fairest, while Tom Floyd and Darcy Thorn came in runner up. Ryan Timmins was awarded the Thirds Best Team Player for the season. 

Club Secretary, Teresa D’Angelo, acknowledged two of our key figures of our women’s program for their external achievements this season. Senior Women’s Coach Jaryd Coghill was shortlisted for the AFL Volunteers National Senior Coach of the Year, while Senior Women’s captain Kate Bond finished second in the League Best and Fairest this season.  

Our Reserve Men’s Awards was next, presented by joint coaches Michael Correnti and Grant Dowler and captain Josh Hay. Campbell McKenzie in his first season at the Club won the Best and Fairest, while Mitch Oliver, Dom Tracy and Jed Holland tied for runner up. Returning star Jordy O’Brien lead the goal kicking for season 2021. Tate Tregea-Copeland was voted by his peers as the Best Team Player

Our Young Leader Awards were presented by our Women’s Football Operations Manager Steph Castagnini and Men’s Football Operations Manager Josh Rogerson. Shalini Jayasekera and Pat Lindsay received the awards for their demonstration of leadership throughout 2021.

Next was an exciting announcement from Club Legend David Morgan as he announced that the Club would be naming a new award. The Samantha Greene Senior Women’s Leading Goal Kicker Award

Our Senior Women’s Awards followed, presented by coach Jaryd Coghill, captain Kate Bond and all-time club leading goal kicker Samantha Greene. Captain Kate Bond took out the Best and Fairest for the fourth consecutive season, while Kaitlyn Ritchie claimed runner up in a break out season. Annie Atkinson was awarded the Best First Year Player. Kate Bond also lead the goal kicking for the season. Teresa D’Angelo was voted by her peers as the Best Team Player, while Emily Davis received a nod from Jaryd with the Coaches Award.

Our John Dumaresq Best Club Person perpetual trophy was awarded to Tate Tregea-Copeland. Throughout season 2021, Tate excelled in many roles and with many tasks. Including: in his deputy role, Reserve Men’s Team Manager, assisting Jaryd with the Senior Women, organising our Virtual Vote Count and being the first to volunteer or cover a game day role when needed. It is Tate’s selfless nature, commitment, attention to detail and hard work that has rightful earned him this award in 2021.

Our Senior Men’s Awards were the final team awards for the evening, presented by coach Andy Sutherland, club games record holder Tony Sheehan, Michelle Hensel and captain Andy Castles. Club Treasurer Sam Benetti-Baker had the honour of winning the Best and Fairest, while Tyler Costa was runner up after making his senior debut in round three. Tom Whelan was awarded the Best First Year Player in honour of Braedon Hensel. Josh Horder was the leading goal kicker this season. Sam Benetti-Baker doubled up also being voted by his peers as the joint winner of the Best Team Player, along with Harry Baker

Lastly, our most prestigious award at the Club, the Bob Segrave Outstanding Service perpetual trophy was awarded to Josh Rogerson. Rogo has been a stalwart in the senior men’s side since 2018, finishing top three in the goal kicking twice in three seasons. On the field, he has been a leader to the younger players and off the field, he has been a leader of the Club. Rogo has been on the executive committee since 2018 and has put in more work than anyone. The Club has come first for Rogo and his body of work shows that. Winning the Bob Segrave Outstanding Service Award is a perfect way of sending Rogo out as he steps away from the committee in season 2022.

What a night it was, despite celebrating from our loungerooms, it was fantastic to celebrate all the achievements this season had! 


You may also like

LTUFC acknowledge the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nations as the traditional custodians of the land on which we meet. We pay our respects to them, their culture and Elders past and present.
Join the list

Be the first to know about match report releases, game reviews and the latest news from the Trober community.