La Trobe University Football Club’s Senior Men’s teams show a rich history of outstanding players. Since the club’s early days, the coveted Tony Sheehan Award has recognised the on-field excellence of the season’s male top performer. More recently, the Braedon Hensel Award was established to honor the most impressive first-year player, fostering the development of future stars. You’ll also find the team’s leading goalkicker, awarded the David Morgan Award.

YearCoachCaptains Best & Fairest WinnerRunner UpLeading Goal KickerBest First Year Player
2024Andy CastlesSam Benetti-Baker/Connor McCredden----
2023Ricky NolanAndy CastlesMatt OgleConnor McCreddenMatt Ogle (27)Jacob Assemani
(Premiership Season)
Ricky NolanAndy CastlesRiley AlexanderRiley KeathRiley Alexander (77)Connor McCredden
2021Andrew SutherlandAndy CastlesSam Benetti-BakerTyler CostaJosh Horder (21)Tom Whelan
(Season cancelled due to pandemic)
Andrew SutherlandAndy CastlesNot AwardedNot AwardedNot AwardedNot Awarded
2019Alan EzardTom MooneyAndy CastlesRicky NolanBailey Zimmerman (35)-
2018Alan EzardTom MooneyTom MooneyMatt OgleMitch Oliver (12)

2017Alan EzardElliot Kelly Mitchell GleesonMatt OgleJonathon Neville (44)-
2016Alan EzardElliot Kelly Elliot KellyJacob ChristieMitchell Gleeson (76)-
2015Alan EzardGrant Dowler Brad HoffmanShaun FieldShaun Field (37)-
2014Stephen AdamthwaiteGrant Dowler/Shaun FieldJordy O’BrienLiam TooheyJack McMeel (58)-
2013Brenton HuntKarl Anderson/Grant DowlerDavid HackerRupert SangsterJack McMeel (54)-
2012Stuart PattenJarryd AllanElliot KellyCarl JoyceStuart Patten (46)-
2011Dan WinkelPaul RussellLochie DornaufDavid HarryStuart Patten (72)-
(Premiership Season)
Dean SheldrickTerry LudemanGeremie GaninoJoseph McLeanStuart Patten (56)-
(Premiership Season)
Dean SheldrickTerry LudemanLeigh CoffeyBrad van OoiStuart Patten (74)-
2008Dean SheldrickBrad van OoiJoseph McLeanLachlan McFadzeanBrenton Hunt (26)-
2007Dean SheldrickTerry LudemanGerrard BenceTerry LudemanTerry Ludeman (37)-
2006Zoran ColovicTerry LudemanStephen PruscinoAdam CoulterAdam Coulter-
2005Glenn TaylorTerry LudemanMichael CossarDavid McMeekinShaun Brooks (40)-
2004Glenn TaylorDean Sheldrick/Shaun BrooksTerry LudemanDavid McMeekinTim Mawdsley (19)-
2003Tony CrisafulliDean SheldrickDean SheldrickDavid McMeekinShaun White (34)-
2002Brian GrillsDean SheldrickShaun WhiteScott EdwardsPeter Farrant (57)-
2001Andrew SutherlandGerard Robinson Dean SheldrickClinton PerryRyan Close (48)-
2000Andrew SutherlandGerard F. RobinsonSimon FredricksonStephen AdamthwaiteGerard F. Robinson (24)-
(Premiership Season)
Andrew SutherlandAndrew WillisJonathan CammMario BakogiannisDean Sheldrick-
1998Sean DuninWilliam BrownGerard F. RobinsonMario BakogiannisGerard F. Robinson-
1997Mario BakogiannisSean DuninMario BakogiannisBen HaywardBen Hayward (43)-
1996Shayne RuleSean DuninSean DuninAshley CummingsJesse Maddison (30)-
1995Shayne RuleSean DuninSean DuninTimothy O’Connor--
1994David HackneyMario BakogiannisMurray LewisMario BakogiannisJason Lieschke (36)-
1993David HackneyMario BakogiannisMario Bakogiannis/William BrownJeremy Cousins/Geoff LierschGerard A. Robinson (52)-
1992Tim RobertsonMario BakogiannisMario BakogiannisGeoff Liersch/David SidebottomMark Kreuzer/Jason Lieschke (15)-
1991Peter O’DonohueRichard Little Ashley Cummings/Geoff LierschTerry WilsonTerry Wilson (64)-
1990Peter O’DonohueRichard Little Mario BakogiannisRichard LittleTerry Wilson (75)-
(Premiership Season)
Peter O’DonohueRichard LittleTerry WilsonAshley CummingsTerry Wilson (113)-
(Premiership Season)
Peter O’DonohueTim BriggsRichard LittleDaryl PooleLester Green (84)-
1987Peter O’DonohueAlistair McGibbonRichard LittleDaryl PooleAlan Blaskett (36)-
1986Peter O’DonohueLeigh PaynterDaryl PoolePaul TucciColin McLachlan (41)-
1985John KeenanDavid Huffer Garth EvansAlan BlaskettGarth Evans-
1984John SimpsonShane WestleyTim FewingsGrant Newman--
1983John SimpsonShane WestleyPaul TucciShane Westley/Leon McLeodBill Hristovski (65)-
1982John SimpsonPeter OatesPaul TucciPeter BrownBill Hristovski (102)-
1981Tony SheehanJohn CondonPeter BrownLeigh SparrowJohn Condon (34)-
1980Tony SheehanSimon HastJohn CondonSimon HastJohn Condon (43)-
1979Tony SheehanSimon HastPeter TunbridgeJohn GrahamIvan Mundar (60)-
1978Tony SheehanSimon HastPeter TunbridgeSimon HastJohn Condon (41)-
1977Tony Sheehan/Harry VeldumsTony Sheehan, Simon Hast/Harry VeldumsEd Cordner/Rob ThomasJohn Graham/Craig NelsonSean O’Donohue/Mick Butler (50)-
(Premiership Season)
Tony Sheehan/Harry McElwainTony Sheehan/Harry McElwainGary Forbes/Simon CookLloyd Cowling/Tom DelahuntyAnthony von Moger (49)/Peter Robinson-
1975Tony Sheehan/Kevin McElwainTony Sheehan/Kevin McElwainLloyd Cowling/Wayne PappinTony Goode/Stephen PalmerColin McGregor/-
1974Tony Sheehan/Bob WoodTony Sheehan/Bob WoodJames Oaks/Rex Hardman-Stephen Witte/Rex Hardman (38)-
1973Greg Sceney/Tony SheehanGreg Sceney/Tony SheehanBrendon O’Brien/Lloyd Cowling-Stephen Witte/Rex Hardman (27)-
1972Terry Loftus/Tony SheehanTerry Loftus/Tony SheehanGary O’Brien/Jeremy Drew/Ken Bishop-Geoff Roche (48)/Christopher Langford (26)-
1971Kevin Easton/Mick MullinsAndrew Gee/Greg SceneyJohn Pech/Don RoweStephen Witte/Ian CochranJohn Condon (38)-
1970Kevin Easton/Michael Gorman Andrew Gee/Steve BrownGreg Sceney/Steve Brown-Greg Sceney (57)/Ray Snowden-
(Premiership Season)
Andrew Gee/Michael GormanAndrew Gee/Mick TaylorJohn Condon/Brian Manison-David Morgan (176)-
1968Bob Segrave/Henry ClarkeDavid Morgan/Phil McDonoughDavid Morgan/Noel Hillis-David Morgan (96)-
1967Bob SegraveDavid MorganMick MullinsAndrew GeeDavid Morgan (54)-
LTUFC acknowledge the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nations as the traditional custodians of the land on which we meet. We pay our respects to them, their culture and Elders past and present.
Join the list

Be the first to know about match report releases, game reviews and the latest news from the Trober community.